Questions. (When I Fear Backsliding)

Questions. (When I fear backsliding)

Am I gonna be comfortable or burdened?

Do I care more about America than Americans?

Am I more concerned with how people perceive me or how people perceive Jesus in me?

Which is better, the size of my church or the quality of its members?

Will I strive for honesty and unity to the point of brokenness and vulnerability?

Will I pray, when brothers are falling away?

Will I pray, when the world drives me mad?

Will I pray, when media and society pull at my bents and frustrations, seeking to siphon some pre-decided stance or emotion from my flesh?

Will I rise above slander and polarization when it seeks to divide and crumble any healthy, biblical position?

Will I take the “high road” when I am slandered and slammed, rumored about and mocked…knowing that most do not even know what they are doing?

Can I keep—through the quagmire of modernity—a central focus on a Lamb, on a Lion?

Would I seek His face when everything in me is screaming to stop and acquiesce and cool and dull the message of the Cross to be more appealing or better received?

Would I be filled with an all-wise, perfectly-paced, and spot-on Spirit who will guide all situations, conversations, and dispositions?

Will I remain wholly devoted, unswervingly steadfast in the TRUTH above all “truths” that I find in Your seamless, peerless, priceless Word?

When the chips are down, when flesh is at max-capacity-threshold, will I love?

When the enemy “presses in like a flood,” will I let the battle belong to the Lord? God, I hope so….

All these questions…let them be answered by the “Yea…and the Amen.”

Come quickly to my fragile state, oh my Lord…and my God.

So be it.

20130730-074126.jpg

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Biblical Manhood, Calvary Chapel Iron River Teachings, Flame, I AM RESISTANCE!, Revival and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

