Refresher

Refresher

20130706-074213.jpg

I’ve been reminded, yet again, how easy it is to leave my first love…the young, happy love of my espousal unto the Lord. That early, crazy, nutty love that had you telling EVERYBODY what just happened. I’m forgiven! I’m clean…all my sins are washed away! What joy has filled my heart! Zeal, oh zeal, how it flooded me completely. And, honestly, I have been through many seasons in my walk where the joy of salvation and the glory of God filled me. But then again, I’ve been in full time ministry lately.

“Nevertheless, I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy FIRST LOVE.”—Revelation 2:4

I’m a pastor, a husband, a father, a leader…oh man. So easy to be busy-busy-busy and leave, even ever-so-slightly, my first love. And this is what must grip me powerfully: I have to notice when my eyes are set more on the horizontal than on the vertical-divine. The work and not the Workman Who works in me. The service instead of the Savior. Oh my Jesus, help me.

“Repent ye, and do the first works…”

Turn I must; turn I will. “Return to Me, says the Lord of hosts, and I will return to you, says the Lord of hosts.” Thank you. The promise is there. The preconception for my knowing front-sliding. Work is good. Work for Jesus is better. Exhausting, toil at the plow blesses heaven. Yet, if we take our eyes off of the great Plowman in front of us, the work begins to drag and tear us up, resulting in a stoppage or even looking back. A Christian walk motivated by a “have-to” or some religious trip or sheer guilt ends in bondage, where ministry or walking with Christ in love and by LOVE, is a great adventure.

Oh Yahweh, let us be reminded today to reconsider and reconfigure around Your Throne…in Your Presence. We need to repent, return and do the first works in this mighty love affair. Bring us back to center; let everything we do echo from intimate conversation.

Refresh us. Bring us home. All for love.

20130706-074213.jpg

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Calvary Chapel Iron River Teachings, Flame, ministry, Revival, Tribe of Judah and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

