Day 7: Give Me Rest.

DAY 7: Give Me Rest

Psalm 68, 1Kings 9, 2 Sammy 7, Hebrews 4

I want to cease from my own works. I want to enter in. To Rest. Give me rest from all my enemies, roundabout. Work as I can’t. Be what is impossible for me to be. Live my life through the carcass writing this. Give me rest.

Though it is the most “active rest” I could imagine, it fits the bill. For anything done through me not using me for fuel is privy to this rest we speak of. A completely obedient vehicle. A man overrun. A man overcome. Let me drink deep of this rest.

Busy, busy, busy…have I been of late. Sick and tired and unable to think things straight. Restless nights. Sleep attacked by hell itself. The little things like poop and puke and vomit and piss. Too much. My house is tired; we are wicks burning low. Give us rest. I know You will.

All this is worth it, this breaking down. The need is as obvious as where Your glory is due. Only You will accomplish victory; only You will conjure peace in all of this. Give me rest. Lamb of peace, Lion of incorruptible crown…lay me down in Your meadow. My mind has melted. My flesh is aching and moaning. Sickness knocks at the door of my bones. Fainting. Reeling. Grinding to a halt….

Sounds like all the surrender You need to prop me up and breath Your enflamed Spirit into this lifelessness, and then loose it on earth. Oh my lovely Jesus, give me rest from my labors so Yours can be realized. Go ahead, ruin the rest of me and inject great REST in me.

And receive hallowed Glory.

20130102-210551.jpg

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Biblical Manhood, Calvary Chapel Iron River Teachings, Fasting, Flame, Poet-Prophet, prayer, Tribe of Judah and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

