Day 2: ChangeUP

Day Two: ChangeUP
Soundtrack: I have now given up music for the next couple weeks, so no more soundtracks!

20121228-181352.jpg

Just when I was somewhat comfortable with my abnormal and uncomfortable life, the Lord goes and throws me a curve ball. Like a “You’re not doing it right” curve ball. Turns out, as it usually does when I’m not doing it right, that He was right…I wasn’t doing it right. Me, in my fire-hearted gusto, was ready to take the hill all by myself and toss the whole church on my shoulder and run over land mines and through spitting bullets . But He has had something else in mind.

You see, I’m always looking for a fight, spiritually…the right kind of fight. Against Satan, sin, or fighting for the underdogs, the hungry, the poor—you name it. In many ways, I’ve gotten so used to the fight, that I have a hard time standing still or resting in the Lord or simply having victory, or at least enjoying it. I’m a soldier, that’s what I told ya. Soldiers fight. They like to fight. They joined up because there IS a fight! And there still is…but that’s not the point here.

So, anyway, back to me being wrong…. I was. I just went all crazy-pants, warrior autopilot and decided—without seeking the Lord on the details—that we were just supposed to fast another 21 days this January, you know, like it is a good idea to put the Ark of the Covenant on a cart. I can hear it, faintly in the distance…a Jewish man dancing in front of milk cows, with his tassels flowing in the Prussian wind…TRADITION! Tradition. Crap. I went and gots religious.

Back to the drawing board. And the grand Sounding Board.

I asked the Lord for fresh vision on fasting; He supplied it. Last year was about hardcore intercessory prayer and spiritual warfare. This year isn’t. He has ALREADY won. This is about the battle belonging to the Lord and us standing and seeing His might and His salvation in the midst of an already-defeated foe. Last year was a 21-Day Fast and this year, for some reason that He has confirmed, this year should be 15 days. That’s right, 15 days. I’ve done 21-Day fasts for almost ten years, and then Jesus goes and drops some rice in my engine.

So…today’s lesson: BE SPIRIT-FILLED. And Spirit-led.

Don’t just kick back and do things the way you have always done them. Let the Holy Ghost lead you according to His Word. Great is His faithfulness to rescue us from the drudgery that would be our world if we just kept on doing the same thing we think works all the time. Time for fresh manna and a revived heart!

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Biblical Manhood, Fasting, Flame, prayer, Revival, Tribe of Judah General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 2: ChangeUP

  1. What time do you want the pizza delivered on Sunday?

Leave a Reply

