Mr. Mom

20120314-142440.jpg

So…. We had a baby last Thursday, the newest member of the Tribe (Hallel Righteous Ember), and it has been a transition and learning experience ever since. Every time a new baby has shown up in our tribe, we have gone through a metamorphosis as a family and ministry—and little Hallel is no exception. I was once told by a wiser, older and fatter pastor, that every time you have a new baby, you get another chance to die to yourself. Turns out, that was VERY true!

For the last six days, I have cooked breakfast three times, whipped up no less than three stir fries, made sandwiches, ran the dogs, fed the dogs, taken the kids to the feminine-charged library reading time, cleaned-vacuumed-cleaned, waited on my wife as much as I can, played with the kids, prayed with the kids, went on bike rides, and made roughly 138 trips up and down our stairs. Literally enough to get a decent workout! And this is not to mention losing a buttload of sleep.

Now, with me and my wife’s interestingly flexible, yet very busy ministry schedule, I normally can help out with housework a few days a week. But this, my friend, is a whole other level. This achievement, while going just a little crazy and having very little time for quiet times and prayer, has earned me the Mr. Mom merit badge. That’s right, we give out merit badges in the Tribe of Judah!
I know, I know…now I got you all thinking of that Michael Keaton movie from the eighties. Good, cuz it was awesome! A story of a dad who stays home with the kids while his wife has the good job…and chaos ensues. Anyway this is something like that, yet different. Spiritually, I feel that the Lord is continuing to streamline me. When the heat and workload and lack of sleep are all turned up a couple notches, you see what you’re made of. And from the looks of things, I still need work and discipline to sharper me all the more. Oh the methods He uses; I never thought the anvil under my prideful pounding would be simple family growth. That’s a good one, LORD!

Another thing I’ve noticed, and I’ll leave you with this, is that my wife is a machine, a workhorse if you will, of the most efficient sort. I mean, she does this stuff weeks on end: the multitasking, the kiddie-chaos, the sporadic “trapped” feeling of the house, the onslaught of dishes and dinner and laundry and on and on…. Wow, what a woman I have. To be praised in the city gates, this is my wife. She rises early; she makes stuff. She is a master chef; plus, she teaches my kids to stay in line and learn how to read. How can you stay beautiful, faithful, and patient without losing your mind? Well, ask Grace Elizabeth Brindle (brindletribe.wordpress.com).

I guess my Mr. Mom title doesn’t sound as awesome when you put my up against the real thing. Sheesh!

20120314-142615.jpg

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Communalism/Acts Model, ministry, Revival, Tribe of Judah General, Women in Society and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mr. Mom

  1. Laura says:

    Awesome daddy/hubby helps make us wives even stronger. Just be her Rock and her fortress and her knight in armor and she will be the best baby mama/wife on the planet. :0)

Leave a Reply

