Day 11: From Filthy to Festal

“1And he showed me Joshua the high priest standing before the angel of the LORD, and Satan standing at his right hand to resist him. 2And the LORD said unto Satan, The LORD rebuke thee, O Satan; even the LORD that hath chosen Jerusalem rebuke thee: is not this a brand plucked from the fire? 3Now Joshua was clothed with filthy garments, and stood before the angel. 4And he answered and spake unto those that stood before him, saying, Take away the filthy garments from him. And unto him he said, Behold, I have caused thine iniquity to pass from thee, and I will clothe thee with change of raiment (festal or stately robes).”–Zechariah 3:1-4

For one thing, it is real nice that your parents decided to name you a Hebrew name that appears in the Old Testament several times…then you get that extra, special, “Oh man, He’s talking to me!” feeling. But when the Lord brings up a very unique and personal verse that He has spoken to the depths of you in times gone past, it is very, very special indeed.

Today, was one of those days.

Actually, today was one of those days that you wish was over once it started. Sluggish and scattered from fasting. Body not cooperating. Frustrated at problematic circumstances out of my control. Not dealing with it is the most spiritual manner. Trying to pray, but it felt like missing a layup in junior high basketball. Try again, tired…and still scattered. More frustration. Moping. Down- casting. On the verge of feeling sorry for myself. And then, in my bi-weekly shower, God spoke an old, tried and tested verse to me.

Like water to my soul. Like a morsel in the desert. Like quail when I’ve grown sick of manna. Thank You LORD.

Thank You that when I come weary and filthy before Your Presence, with the road-spray of life all over me. When I’m all mucked-up, you step in like a celestial big brother and beat up that Old Enemy of my soul, You plucked me from my life-on-fire, and clothed me like the prodigal’s wealthy father. When You pay my ransom…when You step in and interfere…when You right my wrongs–I can stand in heavenly scenes. And I so don’t deserve to; I’m just happy to be along for the ride.

And here You go and call me royalty….

20120111-193235.jpg

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Fasting, Flame, I AM RESISTANCE!, ministry, prayer, Revival, Tribe of Judah General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

