Fasting Day 10: I Am Overcome & The Melting

Here are two poems I wrote after reading Song of Solomon this morning in my quiet time and, the second one, came from reflecting on a nearly three-hour prayer meeting last night. Glory to God…Help is on the way! But we must overcome our unbelief….

20120110-133926.jpg

I AM OVERCOME….
This morning I walked with You in the Vineyard
Amongst ripened fruits and lush foliage.
The words of Your mouth bore the faint hints of milk and honey
And as the north breeze swept around us, I caught the fragrance
Of Your love in my nostrils…all of myrrh and frankincense and aloes and cassia.
You exude the spices of eternal life and I am filled like an overflowing cup…like the altar of incense, I too become a fragrant praise smoldering before the veil.

We have come now from the Vineyard to the Tent of Meeting…like a bridal chamber and You whisper words of celestial shores and dripping valleys of heavenly dew…these words too pure and immense to utter on earth.
The fair, calm wind flutters the tent from outside, but all is still in intimacy within. My worship, my kinship…is Yours. My allegiance and my life, I lay down.
My Beloved slipped out of bridal garb and into priestly regalia…the vari-colored jewels of the ephod shone each one in its time…lit by the now continuous glow on my face.
The Great High Priest pulls back the inner-curtain and shows me the mercy seat, the ark of the covenant, the scepter, the rod that budded, the jar of manna, and the written Torah….
They are all in Him…
And of Him…
And by Him…
And through Him.
Two cherubs, with gargantuan wings provide holy cover.
I am now slipping away in this scene, found terribly unfit for the endeavor.
How have I come so far in? I shouldn’t be here Lord…
But it is good to be here, oh Transfigured One.
The look in His eyes is still, yet lovely…fierce, yet inviting.
“This is all for you…you have come boldly…partake my beloved, partake….”
I am out-of-body.
I am slipshod at best, my King.
I am only here because of You…

And I am overcome.

THE MELTING
We sat down.
We bowed our lives…
We opened our mouths towards the Father
…And we melted.
Like the seemingly firm mountains,
Like the prophets of Baal on Carmel
Like small pillars of butter in the sun
We melted before the breath of God.

You spoke…and I died to my unbelief.
I immediately saw You as Prophet
And Healer
And Colossal King of Might.
I saw words become life straight from Your Holy Writ:
They gained legs.
They grew life.
They became living instruction.
The prayers, they did flow.
The response was second-nature.

Further I melted.
Until I saw myself as reduced to a puddle of man on the floor.
I saw myself as lessened in the powerful light of the Real God.
I assessed myself and found myself wanting.
I, the decreased.
You melted me with a fervent heat, exceedingly hot.
Your love, a most vehement flame
Dissolved this man to my base elements.

I now have no excuse to NOT believe everything You are
Because You became everything to me in one night
And I was whittled to dust and ashes.
I have heard You with the hearing of my ears,
But now I SEE YOU WITH MY EYES &
Repent of the filth that I am.

Melt me, mold me, fill me, use me…
Spirit of the Living God…fall afresh on me.

20120110-133926.jpg

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Fasting, Flame, I AM RESISTANCE!, Poet-Prophet, prayer, Revival, Tribe of Judah General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

