Day 4: Shaken & Stirred

Hebrews 12:26-27–“Yet once more I shake not only the earth, but also heaven.” Now this “Yet once more” indicates the removal of those things that are being shaken as of things that are made, that the things which cannot be shaken may remain. NKJV, emphasis added.

I had simply forgotten just how much these fast things rattle you to your Christian core. You get shaken up, man! The Lord, flatly, loves us too much to leave us alone. So, especially in these times, we can not despise His chastening, discipline, or challenges to even the depth of who we think we are.

Turns out, I am getting to a point just in the last two days, where I don’t exactly know who I am and just what I am doing. Yahweh is showing me, yea even proving to me, that I have had too much to do with HIS work. Too many fingerprints on His Bride. Too much input on how HE should do things. And too much attempted control with individuals who just won’t seem to cooperate with MY plans.

Oh my wretched and infantile plans…how God must sigh and laugh at them.

Anyway, I guess I need Jesus to take the wheel. I can’t believe I said that, but I really want to be relevant to all you kids out there who can’t get through an exhortation without a pop-culture reference to hang on to. I kid….

But seriously folks, how much of your life is honestly YOUR plans simply spiced up with a little God on the side? A little God dust to make things seem spiritually seasoned enough for people to choke down??? How much do WE All, as Christians, put a chokehold on how God is gonna work in our lives? I am guilty, to varying degrees, of doing this often…especially because I am always trying to push the envelope with ministry and not settle for mediocrity.

I CAN’T want Revival MY way; I need Revival done God’s way. Or else, it is just gonna taste funny because it has too much of ME in the recipe. Help me Sweet Jesus, to not demand or pursue–even ministry–my own way and at my own pace. For this is sin and pride and a gross misconception, that I could actually pull this off at all on my own. I can’t. Curse this stubbornness and put it to death. I give it away. I’m letting go. Come upon me, Holy Spirit, and take charge…for I am a terrible pilot for Revival.

Amen.

20120104-123855.jpg

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Fasting, Flame, I AM RESISTANCE!, ministry, prayer, Revival, Tribe of Judah General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

