The Vision & The Visionary

20111215-110942.jpg

In this post, I would like to let you into my head for a minute:

I am, at the risk of sounding supremely pretentious and for lack of a better term…a visionary. I can’t help myself or keep myself from thinking about what could be, what should be, and what will be. When I hear the voice of the Lord whisper through Scripture or clutch my heart in a moment of desperation, I want for all I am worth to make a further advance for the Kingdom.

I see the world the way the Lord meant it. I see our Lord seated on the throne. I envision the literal outcome and sure fulfillment of all that I read in the Holy Writ. I smell the lucid odor of Revival in the wind. And I can’t help it…I don’t want to help it! I want to be mad with it…possessed by it. Breathing it. Screaming it. Singing it. Bellowing it. Blasting the trumpet of Zion from the mountain tops, “Make straight the path for the Lord!!!” I want to wave a banner. I want to be a torche. I see no problem with being a ludicrous madman-proclaimer of all that He has done and all that He is in His mighty glory.

When I survey the blatant normalcy of the heroes in the Bible, I actually think I can be like that. I mean, James tells us that Elijah was a man just like us. Elijah! Because of verses like this, I honestly think I’m something…maybe even pretty stinking awesome–IN HIM. With my God, I can be hopelessly outnumbered and still gain the victory. With my God, I can recover from the sin and faults that are so common to man. With my God, there is nothing impossible, so I can accomplish seemingly impossible things. In Him, no foe is too dastardly or vicious. In Him there is magnificent providence. In Him, I am never defeated and never die. I CANNOT LOSE.

When I watch The Lord of the Rings or The Chronicles of Narnia or The Book of Eli…I feel a pounding heart within my chest that is a beating, tribal drum meting out the pulse of war. I see a quest worth launching out into. I move when He moves; I stop when He stops. He is the Great Captain of the Guard and I am enlisted in His service. In this quest, I see a burning desire to “Save the world.” I CAN’T HELP IT!!! And again, I don’t want to.

I can’t listen to the locust-like voices of the swarms of doubters, naysayers, back biters, pessimists, and shoe gazers. I will block you out like faithless white noise. If God is not your goal or growing with Him more, then step aside. I refuse to understand how anyone would not want all that there is of God and all his plenteous blessing. I will not come off this wall. “Not now, not then…not ever again!”

We must drive this team through the mountains. We must give chase to the pillar of cloud or the pillar of fire. Because I want my face to glow quite brilliant. I want to be overwhelmed with the flaming finger of God autographing His creation right out in front. I want to barely be able to stand it. I want to have to ask Him to stay His hand or reveal only me His backside from wanton fear of death.

But I am Joshua. And, if Moses made it all the way up, maybe I can scurry partway up the backside. I want to be caught trying to get more. I want to be left hanging out in the Tabernacle of Meeting, not being able to get enough. I am the herald of one more look, the harbinger of the fixed eyes, the rider of revival waves. I WILL NOT SETTLE! I have the blood of kings and warlords in my veins. I am grafted in. I WILL rule and reign.

And now we come to the great battle of our age…as an enemy presses in formidable, covering the ground like spilt venom. Vastly lopsided are the odds. I am sure we will not last through the night. But sacred is this pursuit…and it has brought us to this snowy precipice to look out on all that is evil, shove an aged spear in the air, calmly set the horn of salvation to our lips and blow a clear, discernible note through the pages of history.

This is our quest. The vision is sure; the prophecy is true. It was yet for an appointed time and now that TIME HAS COME.

This is my vision….for he who has eyes, let him see.

20111215-111108.jpg

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Flame, I AM RESISTANCE!, ministry, Revival, Tribe of Judah, Tribe of Judah General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Vision & The Visionary

  1. Brian says:

    Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled. And in our pursuit, may we also be the fragrance of Christ among those who are being saved–that the parched taste buds of those who have yet to sufficiently imbibe of the living water may be moistened and revived from this river from which we drink; that the shrunken appetites of those who, for whatever reasons, have failed to daily dine on the bread of life might be whetted as we hold forth to them that bread; that the royal feet of those who have trod more the muddy paths of the world than the high places that are their inheritance might be washed and the good path illuminated by the lantern of the Word we hold high; and that the bruised reed might be healed as we administer the balm of Gilead, while the smoking flax is fanned into a blazing fire as we are used as the bellows used to bring the wind of the Holy Spirit to these who founder.
    “Oh, that men would give thanks fo the LORD for His goodness, and for His wonderful works to the children of men! He satisfies the longing soul, and fills the hungry soul with goodness.” We shall press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus!

    • Joshua M. Brindle says:

      Ok Brian…now you need to be writing for this blog! That soothed my soul very much like Spurgeon. I seem to be constantly at the crossroads of decrying the woes of the church and, at the very same time, wanting to speak of His sevenfold and abundant blessings His has wrought for us. My head is lifted high; great things He has done! Thank you, good sir.

  2. Alex Fields says:

    Okay I will admit this whole thing was WAYYY more exciting to read having just watched the new “Hobbit” trailer, but still my friend. Encouraging words none the less. As sure as I know the LORD has your sword and trumpet ( of a mouth), He also has my axe.

    Num 13:30 And Caleb stilled the people before Moses, and said, Let us go up at once, and possess it; for we are well able to overcome it.

    …..and we both know what came of Caleb and his descendants. Amen.

    • Joshua M. Brindle says:

      Grace and I JUST watched that trailer too! But thank you so much for that verse and the encouragement of a fellow axe-wielder. Alexander Von Axewielden.

Leave a Reply

