A Call to Remembrance

If we are faithless, He remains faithful: He cannot deny Himself.–2Timothy 2:13

20111128-173349.jpg

The above verse has always been a crevice in the Rock for me to hide in. When all seems to be falling apart; my prayers seem like they die on takeoff, my Bible reading is stale, or I just can’t seem to go forward with the Lord…I find myself needing to trust God and HIS faithfulness.

One of the ways I learned to do this way back in Bible College, was to remind myself of the great things He has done. And, it was funny, today as I taught this in my Pastoral Epistles class, I convicted my own heart. I feel it necessary to remind myself and share with you the pure awesomeness and faithfulness of My Lord. He has never left, nor forsaken me. My children, nor my wife have ever gone begging for bread. My heat has never been shut off. And I have never been left for dead in any of the thousands of miles I have toured with my ministry and family…even when it seemed very, very possible.

Let this list stir you up, to force your fickle mind to recall God’s miracles and provision in your life. Oh what a great way to get your head up and have your sanity restored, for the King of Heaven never slumbers or sleeps. His ears are always attentive to our prayers and He absolutely NEVER FAILS.

Here goes:

The time my God took two go-nowhere, down-on-their-luck ministers and dropped them into a huge building, started a coffee shop and then provided 137K to pay for the whole thing ten months later.

The time my God took me and my wife half way around the world to put us together for the rest of our lives…I love you Grace.

The time my God told us we would get a bus to tour the country for ministry and we got it–22 hours before we had to leave, marked down form $8,000 to $2,500.

The time God provided gas money when we were down to 17$ in Louisiana and were determined to seek Him for provision and not cry to man for help…SHEWWWW! He came through mightily.

As He did again when we broke down the same trip over Thanksgiving and He provided miraculously for the fix.

God has brought us to the shutoff point within a day, within hours for many of our bills and even beyond once. And every time, we kept trucking, determined not to blaspheme His good Name by asking for help. We asked Him in prayer…and He came through time after time. Great is His faithfulness.

One time we spent all our Christmas money on a heat bill and then won a large Walmart gift card and a bike in a raffle. Plus, a random person bought us six months worth of household items and toiletries.

God brought us through family and church tragedy (difficult and deep pain) and put the pieces back together. He is the God who heals.

God has brought us through the pain of a family member’s suicide and the obvious fallout. He is there in the deepest of dark valleys.

One time, in the bus, we were all the way out in New Mexico and had a freak fuel pump breakdown. A new pump was between two and seven grand! Needless to say, we prayed. The mechanic then came out and told us that an identical, random pump was just sitting on a work bench in the back, the exact one we needed…they took one tiny part off that and got us back on the road for 100 bucks! Dodging bullets man, dodging bullets.

When our bus finally broke down for good, we didn’t know what to do. My whole family and several of my friends were literally stranded on the side of the road. But, the only church acquaintance we knew anywhere near us, payed for our tow, fed us for a week (10 people!) and let us stay at their house and swim in their in-ground pool because it was so unbelievably hot. Another, equally loving brother, drove 6+ hours with a van and a trailer to get us and all our stuff home…for free.

I can truly say, after all this, the Lord gives and the Lord takes away…but blessed be the Name of the Lord!!!

And sometimes it was just praying for baby food or milk or vegetables and someone put them in our bus or we found the stuff in our kitchen…and we hadn’t told ANYONE!

Indeed, GREAT IS HIS ENDURING FAITHFULNESS! I’m getting so excited just typing all this! I can’t wait to see what He does this Christmas and this coming year, for He is good and there is none like Him….

TO BE CONTINUED!

“…I now write unto you…I stir up your pure minds by way of remembrance.”–2Peter 3:1

20111128-173501.jpg

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Flame, ministry, prayer, Revival, Road Life, Tribe of Judah, Tribe of Judah School and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

