Refreshed

Like water poured in baptism. Like oil running down over the beard. Like water found unexpectedly in the desert…today, I was refreshed in the pools of my God. Not that I lurked in dark hollows, or trudged through filth and pig slop. But, early in the morning, I found my mind and flesh arid and inanimate. I pondered the problem, not knowing how to pray, and all I could muster was a simple-hearted, “Lord, refresh me.”

And, you know what, nothing really happened. Did my God hear my plea? Was He going to be attentive to my solemn state? It is in these times, that Yahweh has taught me to wait and seek…both of which are so actively inactive. So, I did. And on with my day I went….

I came once again to the House of God, where I met for discussion over the Word and prayers. Arriving a little jaded and let down, I pursued my God nonetheless. Never give up. Never stop. I will be the distraught women rapping on the Judge’s door until He answers. Still I felt listless and tepid, still I persisted. And, as I sought, I began to find. My black hole mind, lost in space, began to spark of a nova star, birthing from godly gasses and matter. I began to bring to remembrance the miracles He has performed in my days. Recall, oh my smokey mind, recall. Bring to thought the triumphs caused and the tragedies dodged. Indeed, great things He has done.

And then, without rote or forgery, my lips began to speak at the Spirit’s behest. My flesh recoiled slightly; I am in over my head. I am slipping into possession. The words that issued were not of this world, they were the tongues of heaven. The pace and tone and nonsyllabic syllables fell as if rehearsed on the heavenly stage. Then, as quick and divine as they came, they crescendoed and ceased as a sweet, sweet song.

I tripped over seeking the interpretation, as the Holy Ghost hushed the room for what seemed like minutes! And then there was a vision of the day of water pouring, the ever-blessed coming upon. It was a picture for all who are thirsty who dare to come to the Fount. And the water ran in our collective mind’s eye. Next, a simple answer to prayer and a deciphering for the unexplainable. He has heard. He will provide. He has never, ever failed us. Nor will He ever because His ways are already accomplished. Then a psalm of holiness and majesty poured forth. Then the verbal encouragement of a brilliant novice. Finally, the brothers and I felt a jolt of thronely lightning shoot through us…and, by God, we were REFRESHED.

Ahh, drink deep…drink deep, my soul. You are so good to me….

“And the Spirit and the bride say, Come. And let him that heareth say, Come. And let him that is athirst come. And whosoever will, let him take the water of life freely.”–Revelation 22:17

20111122-174335.jpg

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Flame, Poet-Prophet, prayer, Revival, Tribe of Judah General, Tribe of Judah School and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

