We The Devout

We the devout, we the base
We the whorish, we the chaste
We the clean, we the unkind
We sunlit, and we the darkness
We the burnt out or burnt up
We the enflamed of Spirit-fire….

I beseech Thee, O Lord My God
Come swiftly to rescue your Bride…
For she has fallen down a hole,
She has sprung the trap set for her
We devils, we upright
We saintly, we cast down
Oh how we have fallen
before mighty became our title.

A brokenness, an emblazoned burden
Has gripped my heart with talons
Unable to breath without furious prayer
Hiding behind my lips.
How long Oh Lord, how long??!!
How many more wasted days
Of wasted ways.
What we call Christian, You call disgrace
When we play church, You hide Your face.

I boil, I seethe
I weep over the ruins
By night, I survey collapse,
By day, I won’t buy the facade.
Woe unto us, for we have forsaken You.
Woe unto me because I realize the fact.

Turn us and Heal, My dear Yeshua
Our eyes are poisoned
Our words are threats
Our thoughts are toxic
Our hearts beat to a heathen pulse.

Hosanna my God, Hosanna in the highest!
Save us NOW, we are out of time
Be our Supervictor in the tide of war
Rescue, I pray…Rescue this rabble.
Deliver us from our cages of Egypt
And draw us near…so very near to You.

20111117-133000.jpg

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Flame, I AM RESISTANCE!, Poet-Prophet, prayer, Tribe of Judah and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We The Devout

  1. Brian says:

    Broken. We are broken…absolutely broken, but who will own it and be healed?
    “…a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.”

  2. Joshua M. Brindle says:

    Brian, it is ALL ABOUT owning it…and man does it feel good to NOT be despised! I think the Lord is getting us there.

Leave a Reply

