Grace: A Not So Secret Weapon

20110929-114759.jpg

Noah found grace in the sight of the Lord. So did Abraham and Sarah in having a child. Rahab found grace that saved her life. Josiah and Jehoshaphat and Hezekiah found grace to keep their kingdoms truckin’ for the Lord. And all the disciples found this “unmerited favor” as well, as they abandoned the Lord in His darkest hour, well maybe not John, but most of them. Then, later, they were recommissioned, shone the risen Lord, and filled will the Holy Ghost to be witnesses.

I remember, in Bible College, being handed a book by Chuck Smith called “Why Grace Changes Everything.” This book was simple, straight-forward, yet absurdly profound in its scope. As I had heard so many testimonies of drug dealers turned pastors and hell-spun rockers turned worship leaders, I started to see that grace was indeed an overwhelming common denominator.

Later on and up until today, grace is shaping my life. Even though, as those who know me and my spiritual bends, I tend to hearken to myself and the Body about worship, holiness, discipleship and Revival…grace is still cutting through the mix. You see, there is still–big news–no good thing that dwells in me. And as this ministry grows and I find some way to mature, that way seems to be fraught and teaming with grace.

Grace screams to keep fighting and never surrender.
Grace gets me out of bed to pray.
Grace picks me up and will NOT let me feel sorry for my own sinful flesh.
Grace is a righteous goad in my side.
Grace is my companion on a cold and solitary road.
Grace my strength, bought through the Blood.
Grace is my blessing though I am, in untold fathoms, unworthy.
And Grace, even, is my wife. Yes, it is true, before I married my wife Grace, I underlined a verse in my Bible: “Grace be with you. Amen.” (Titus 4:22) And my handwritten note to the side read, “Ok.”

If I abide not in the grace of my God, I am nothing and I have nothing. All this Revival talk is futile, without grace and, equally, personal holiness would then be a fool’s errand. Ministry and discipleship contain far too much flesh without grace. Revival: completely out of the question, for me and only me. But with God and His Grace, any doubtful, drab vision is filled with the vivid cold of certainty.

Well, I want Revival more than just about anything. So, ergo, I want more than my fair share of grace. I need bathe in it. I long to let it course through my veins. For then, and only through this amazing grace, can I please God.

I guess, with all this in mind, grace really can change EVERYTHING because it is changing me right now!

About Joshua M. Brindle

Child. Father. Husband. Herald. Writer. Messenger. Psalmist. Poet-Prophet. Biker. Beard-wearer. Teacher. Pastor? Follower. Disciple. Disciple-er. Bearer of the Torche. Keeper of the Flame. Waver of the Banner. Running the race. Fighting the fight. Revolutionary...hopefully.
This entry was posted in Flame, ministry, Revival, Tribe of Judah, Tribe of Judah School and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grace: A Not So Secret Weapon

  1. is571520 says:

    But He giveth more grace. ~ James (again).

Leave a Reply

